Overlooking the river Loir, the big Montigny castle owns its name from its lord, in the 11th century, Gannelon, who was treasurer in Saint-Martin-de-Tours and abbot of Saint-Avit-les-Châteaudun. Fell to the Montigny, the fief was owned by king of France Charles V's son, Louis.
But in 1475, Jacques de Renty, the new lord, rebuilt the castle demolished during the Hundred Years War. Fell to the Fromentières, the Raynier in 1656 then to the count de Fiennes, Montigny was owned in 1832 by the duke de Laval.
He started to restore his castle. He added a detached house on the Eastern front, which housed a beautiful room flanked by kings' portraits. In 1886, the architect Clément Parent altered the façade on the river Loir in the Neo-Renaissance style.