From the end of the Middle-Ages to 1790, did you know that the parliament of Normandy gathered here, in this gorgeous house? The palace raised on the location of the old Clos-aux-Juifs district, a kind of Jews' ghetto seized by Philip the Fair in 1306 and bought 300 livres by city of Rouen in order to transform the place into a market place.
In 1493, the city council decided to raise a building on this market, where the viscount of Rouen and the bailiff dispensed justice. King of France Louis XII launched the building work with the architect Roger Ango. But it was too small, so the king ordered the construction of the Royal palace, the heart of the current building.
Look! We can see statues on the façade, representing every medieval social classes: monks, lords, peasants... those figures were made within 20 years! In the reign of Louis XIV, they raised a wing in 1696, completed in 1702 then replaced by a new wing in 1843.