From 800, the count of Bourges Vicfred owned Sagonne, a fief belonging to counts of Sancerre. The castle looked at that time like a stronghold surrounded by deep moats. In 1524, Sagonne was sold to Jean Babou, lord of La Bourdaisière, master of the artillery, who gave it to his son Jean. Then it fell to Charles de l'Aubespine, who restored it.
He left the castle to his brother François, the grand-father of the famous chronicler Saint-Simon (who spent his childhood here). In 1699, the famous architect Jules Hardouin-Mansart owned Sagonne! He laid out a vast formal garden, designed a courtyard and refurnished the castle: he created the Madame's dwelling house with King's bedroom, Queen's bedroom and the Princes' study.
During the Revolution, the castle and the furniture were sold by auction. One day, someone even knocked at the door, in 1793... Citizens came to take lead on the roof! Yes, this lead "was favourable for French Nation!" Few years later, they ordered to demolish towers.
Buuut... problem! Men were at war, only left women... they wore red white and blue cockade and came in the castle. So, they had to raze those towers, right? Ooh, they didn't want to! Such a tiring work... so those ladies pretended they were pregnant! The subterfuge, plain for all to see, worked very well! They exempted ladies...