A little history of Saint-Jean-du-Baly church

Vinaigrette 0
The church - ©Pymouss / CC-BY-SA The church - ©Pymouss / CC-BY-SA
Saint-Jean-du-Baly church Parish church

This is the old church Sancta Maria de Castello, raised in the 16th century on the foundations of the old Lannion castle. A vast esplanade used to be there, which gave its name to the place: baly.

Baly? What’s it? It means an alley, a way people paced up and down while saying... balivernes, "nonsenses" in French! The primitive chapel delonged to Buhulien parish, and in the 15th century, Lannion had its own parish: a church dedicated to Our-Lady was founded. In the 17th century, this church was dedicated to saint John the Baptist...

Look at that: we can’t miss the big square tower raised in 1519: it had a stony spire, but this one was too heavy, so it jeopardized the church’s stability... As a precaution measure, governor of Brittany, the duke d’Aiguillon, destroyed it at the end of the 18th century...

Inside, several things; don’t miss the 17th century wooden throne and the marble altar (end of the 18th c.). Also, white marble statues representing saint Joseph, the Virgin Mary, saint Joachim, sainte Anne, dating backs to the 18th c.


And also!