A little history of Saint-Vincent church in Culan

Vinaigrette 0
The church seen from Culan castle - ©Anecdotrip.com / CC-BY-NC-SA The church seen from Culan castle - ©Anecdotrip.com / CC-BY-NC-SA
Saint-Vincent church in Culan Parish church

The church was a dependency of the famous Déols abbey. At that time, it was a tiny chapel, dedicated to the Virgin: lords of the neighbouring castle of Culan used it for the Mass. Besides, the famous French admiral de Culan founded a chapter of 6 canons.

Do you see this date of 1624, on the façade? It celebrates the restoration of the church and the construction of the bell-tower (a gift from the prince de Condé). In 1630, this one translated the parish of Saint-Vincent-de-Prahas (located not far from here) in Culan, and Our-Lady became… the parish church of Saint-Vincent!

In the castle’s garden, we can see the back of the church, and especially the Romanesque portal (12th century): the vestige of the former castle’s chapel. Today, it remains this portal, which is the current sacristy of Saint-Vincent!


And also!