Souvigny is a beautiful abbey church. Indeed, the monastery was founded by Aymard, the first duke of Bourbon, in 916. Mentioned in a charter from 920, the church belonged to the monks of Cluny: well, the abbot of Cluny, Mayeul, ended his days in Souvigny.
They certainly buried him here, because an important pilgrimage immediately took place after his death. Even king Hugues Capet came here as a pilgrim! The church was built between the 10th and the 15th century.
After the consecration in 1064, they raised the two towers which flanked the façade and the nave with his Romanesque capitals. In the 12th-13th centuries, they built the two transepts and the crypt. In the 18th century, the sacristy was fit.