It belonged to the church of Vouillon (Indre), those two ones being a dependency of the abbey of Déols. A bull gave by pope Pascal II in 1115 mentioned it for the first time.
It dates back to the 12th century, with a portal restored in the middle of the 19th century by architect Dauvergne. A church with lots of treasures inside… let’s go!
We have 45 stalls, coming from the old Minims convent founded by Jacques de La Trémoille, lord of Bommiers: a convent located in the past near the village. They date back to the beginning of the 16th century.
On one of those stalls, we can see La Trémoille’s blazon (with little eagles) but also Chabannes’ blazon, the family of his wife Avoye: yes, these stalls were given by the couple on the occasion of their wedding in 1511!
Each seat is separate by an armrest decorating with characters: monks reading a book, angels holding the Passion’s tools (a cross, a sponge, a spear)… On the misericords, we have contorted heads, animals, even a fleur-de-lis.
A misericord? What’s this? It’s the part of the stall where you can sit down, even if the seat is pick up, when the Mass was too long… They were kept for old or sick monks, so that’s why they called it misericord: well, yes, have mercy for them!
Sculptors liked to carve this part of the seat… At the end of the stalls, we have panelling with scenes: Temptation, Samson hitting a Philistine with a donkey’s jaw, Samson against the lion, David fighting Goliath.
They date back to the 12th c. Besides the traditional decoration of leaves, lions on the corners, we have two nice scenes: the Christ who give keys to saint Peter, with saint Paul holding a scroll; the sacrifice of Abraham with the angel trying to prevent him from immolating Isaac.
Look closer: you’ll see something different in those capitals… yes, eyes! The sculptor added leaden balls in the characters’ eyes, so their black pupils seem so alive!
Except the stalls, we notice some nice statues (16th and 17th c.) and a beautiful medieval basin made of stone.