Prehistoric site

The cave - ©Pymouss / CC-BY-SA The cave - ©Pymouss / CC-BY-SA

Scoop: a crushed man in la Laugerie! Mortal rock slide The abri de la Laugerie-Basse is part of the group of caves nicknamed grottes du Grand-Roc. A natural hole sitting on the Eyzies site, along...

The entrance - ©Franck-fnba / CC-BY-SA The entrance - ©Franck-fnba / CC-BY-SA

Shall we take off? A planes factory Man knew the cave since a long time: hey, its entrance is visible, a huge hole (about 60 m. high) dug in the limestone mountain of Soudour! A real gaping mouth...

Pebbles from the Mas - ©Didier Descouens / CC-BY-SA Pebbles from the Mas - ©Didier Descouens / CC-BY-SA

The history This mysterious cave was explored for the first time in 1888. The book La grotte d'Azil by Napoléon Peyrat mentioned the cave was frequented by Guilhabert de Castres, ″patriarch of the...

The interior - ©Vassil / Public domain The interior - ©Vassil / Public domain

In the cave, we can see the ″Queen’s gorge″, the gourgo Regino. The tradition says that fiancés went here before their wedding, to fill a jug with water. With this water, they sprinkled their new...

Filitosa IX - ©Sy.forester / CC-BY-SA Filitosa IX - ©Sy.forester / CC-BY-SA

A very important site In 1946, Charles-Antoine Cesari discovered the site for the first time, in the plot of land he owned in order to raise his own house! In 1954, archaeologists even discovered a...

The rock - ©Daniel CULSAN / CC-BY-SA The rock - ©Daniel CULSAN / CC-BY-SA

Mankind frequented the place since prehistory. We found here some stone tools dating back 18 000 to 15 000 BC, flints called "bay leaf". Excavations at the end of 19th century revealed a stack of...

And also!