Priory

The façade - ©Didier Devèze / CC-BY-SA The façade - ©Didier Devèze / CC-BY-SA

A house for knights... Here we are in the old house of Malta order: no more knights, too bad! Nowadays, the Granet museum occupied the place... Malta order moved here in 1180. They inherited'...

Ambierle retable - ©D Villafruela / CC-BY-SA Ambierle retable - ©D Villafruela / CC-BY-SA

You know what? Ambierle owns a treasure! A Flemish retable, given by Michel de Chaugy (duke of Burgundy Philip the Good’s chamberlain) in 1476. It has 3 wooden panels sculpted in the round...

The church and the priory - ©Velvet / CC-BY-SA The church and the priory - ©Velvet / CC-BY-SA

Champdieu is a very old city. It became famous thanks to the priory raised by Benedictine monks in the 10th century. This monastery was managed by Manglieu abbey, in Auvergne. Nowadays we can visit...

Illustration picture (Durer) - ©ErgsArt / Public domain Illustration picture (Durer) - ©ErgsArt / Public domain

Sometimes, the legend and the gory story mix with the ordinary foundation of a priory lost in middle of Charente... Trizay abbey used to be a dependency of the famous Chaise-Dieu abbey. A lord of...

General view - ©Daniel VILLAFRUELA / CC-BY-SA General view - ©Daniel VILLAFRUELA / CC-BY-SA

Souvigny is a beautiful abbey church. Indeed, the monastery was founded by Aymard, the first duke of Bourbon, in 916. Mentioned in a charter from 920, the church belonged to the monks of Cluny:...

The priory - ©Calips / CC-BY-SA The priory - ©Calips / CC-BY-SA

The abbey was mentioned for the first time in 1015. Fell in the 11th century to the Benedictine abbey Saint-André, in Villeneuve-les-Avignon, the monastery became prosperous: one of the most...

The priory - ©PA / CC-BY-SA The priory - ©PA / CC-BY-SA

A few steps from Bordeaux, the Cayac priory is located on Compostela's road. It welcomed lots of pilgrims in the Middle-Ages. The ruins remind us there was here a hospital dependent of the bishopric...

The tank - ©Anecdotrip.com / CC-BY-NC-SA The tank - ©Anecdotrip.com / CC-BY-NC-SA

The Romanesque church dates back to the 12th and 13th centuries. It was the former chapel of a Cluny priory founded by saint Etienne, count of Aumale and his wife. The couple gave it then to Saint...

The chapel's reflection - ©F5ZV / CC-BY-SA The chapel's reflection - ©F5ZV / CC-BY-SA

Nymph's valley! What a lovely name, so poetic, for a place dedicated to prayers! Put up on a former pagan place, the priory was mentioned for the first time in a charter wrote by Henri the Firth in...


And also!