A French President in Estaing castle
City of Estaing was mentioned for the first time in 850: at that time, it was probably a keep. Lords of Estaing had brilliant careers: bishop, cardinal, seneschal...
Anyway, in the 15th century, Gaspard d'Estaing, seneschal of Rouergue, raised a castle on the foundation of the former stronghold. François Rouergue built the brand new castle on the next century.
Once the façades were transformed into Classical style in the 18th century, our castle was sold in 1794.
The estate was parceled out! In 1836, nuns owned Estaing piece by piece. A very hard task... but they succeeded in, because the estate was collected together and even extended!