A little history of Augustins bell-tower in Avignon
The only vestige of the Augustine convent founded in 1261 is still standing: the church’s bell-tower (1377). It’s a tower crowned by a stony spire and an iron campanile.
The construction of the church began in 1297 and... the building site was pretty colossal!
Cardinal Pierre Corsini, Catherine of Medici’s intendant, paid the site. Then our bell-tower was transformed into a clock.
The convent and the church were razed in 1792... hands off to the tower!