A little history of Bazouges castle
De Champagne family raised a fortress in the 13th century, on the foundation of a first medieval keep raised in 1050 by Hugues d'Amboise. Then the fortress was extended in the 15th century with a small castle at the entrance and a main building.
Durfort family inherited the estate in the beginning of the 17th century: immediately, they began the building site with the construction of the northern dwelling house, the creation of the formal garden and of the terrace near river Loir...
Louis-Damien Fontaine, owner in 1730, raised a brand new main building and altered the façade overlooking the garden.