A little history of Beaugency Dunois castle
Jean Dunois, famous "bastard of Orléans" (Joan of Arc's comrade in arms), received the seigneury of Beaugency in 1442 when he married Marie d'Harcourt.
But our man didn't really like his life in the old medieval fortress' keep of Beaugency!... In spite of many alteration works, he finally built, to the east of the Tour César, a manor house much more comfortable opened onto a garden and a closed courtyard.
Known as château Dunois, bastard of Orléans' heirs enriched the building as centuries went by.
Whereas tour Cesar is in ruins, nowadays, destroyed mainly during wars of religion, the chateau Dunois escaped from dilapidations.
Sold during the Revolution, Loiret departement bought it and transformed it into a place for the destitute, then in 1928 into a regional museum.