A little history of Boury castle
In 1030, we found the first mention of the first lord of Boury. He raised his stronghold on a very strategical place, which controlled the frontier between Ile-de-France and Normandy duchy. Richard Lionheart seized it in 1198.
But Boury family died out in the 13th century, so the fief fell to Villiers de l'Isle-Adam family.
But during the Hundred Years War, their descendants lose their land: English barons owned it, Guillaume de Fontaine get back the castle in 1449.
In 1686, Guillaume Aubourg, the new owner, raised a brand new castle.
The medieval fortress was transformed into a farm, with a dovecote. Jules Hardouin-Mansart began the building site of this Classical castle, made of white stone. Simple, elegant façades were made by sculptor Michel Poissant, from Gisors.
In the 18th century, a formal garden was added and they raised a chapel near the castle. Inside, living rooms were refurnished and they added nice panelling and wrought iron-work.