A little history of Cabu townhouse
Now we are on place Desnoyers, laid out from 1912 to 1933, with its garden landscaped between 1932 and 1942. François-Edmond Desnoyers (1806-1902), from Orléans, priest and Pope's prelate, was Orléans historical museum's director (1877).
He also founded the Archaeological and historical Society from Orléans in 1848.
The current archaeological museum is located in an old house, wrongly nicknamed Diane de Poitiers' house: it was raised by the famous architect Jacques Androuet Ducerceau in 1548 for Philip Cabu, a lawyer from Orléans.
The façade is richly decorated, composed of characteristic patterns from the Fontainebleau school's work.
Look! We can see Doric, Ionic and Corinthian orders: the first time those kind of patterns (from Italy) had been used in Orléans city!