A little history of Colbert passage
In the beginning of the 19th century, Parisians loved covered galleries, called "passages". But it was a fashion... which was soon forgotten. Colbert passage sank into oblivion. They even destroyed it in 1975 and rebuilt it 10 years later, in order to house the National Institute of Heritage.
The gallery dates back to 1826, raised on the location of the old hôtel Le Vau: it was named after Colbert (king Louis XIV’s minister) because not far from here we found the old Colbert's city house.
Oh, talk of the devil and he appears! This is Colbert, above our heads, on a painting! He holds the act of the creation of the Académie Française in his hand!
At the end of the gallery, we have this nice rotunda with its decoration from Pompeii. You know what? In the past we found in the middle of the room a vast candelabra on a bronze coconut tree! Nowadays, a simple bronze statue replaces it...