A little history of Flaugergues castle
Flaugergues is a folie, which was a little country house built in the 18th century. Etienne de Flaugergues, councillor in Toulouse parliament, bought the estate in 1696, with vineyard, because he wanted to raise a castle here.
In fact, he wanted to alter the small farm which existed on the estate, in order to transform it into a beautiful mansion.
So the farm became a main building flanked by a detached house, with wrought iron balconies, a tiled roof, Doric columns framing the door... Flaugergues also laid out formal gardens and an alley lined with olive trees in 1730.
When Etienne passed away, the castle fell to the Boussairolles family, in 1769, councillors in Montpellier.
These ones re-laid out the gardens in 1858: they raised the orangery and transformed the garden into a landscaped garden. The next owners planted the vineyard in the end of the 19th century.