A little history of Gaillon fountain
A nice fountain made by a big name, Louis Visconti! Oh, he was the one who designed the Molière fountain and the Saint-Sulpice's one.
Our fountain was named after the Gaillon's city house, raised at the location of the current church of St-Roch.
The first building was erected in 1707, with the name "Louis-le-Grand's fountain", because the gracious king Louis XIV allowed "his" waters to feed the fountain! The current fountain was made by Visconti in 1827: they restored it in 1971.