A little history of Jarnioux castle
The castle | Dominique Robert / CC-BY-SA
Jarnioux estate is very old, since the name of Jarnioux comes from Gernioscus, which means... "estate which belongs to Gallic Gernios"!
The seigneurie was mentioned for the first time in 1309, with Louis de Gleteins. A fief shared between different families, Gleteins, de Juys, Le Viste houses. Finally, Jarnioux land was bought by the Henry family in 1560.
Then it fell to the Ménardeau, the Lostanges, the Clavière. And the Gothic castle was many times altered! We have six towers, a keep, one Renaissance wing which give Jarnioux an unusual silhouette!