A little history of La Marthonie castle
The La Marthonie family put it up in the 14th century. Mondot de La Marthonie, first president of Bordeaux Parliament, extended it a century later.
Set up as a marquessate in 1650 for Jean-Gaston de La Marthonie, the castle received a classical style wing with a gallery on the ground floor.
New owners fitted apartments and the huge stony staircase. Fell by marriage to the Beynac family, the castle was abandoned in the 20th century then restored from 1960.