A little history of La Rochefoucauld castle
The first mention of the castle dates back to 1019, when Foucauld, lord of La Roche, raised a first building. Foucault II added a square keep few years later.
Nevertheless, it was in the 15th century that this medieval stronghold lost its austerity and became a nice dwelling.
François II de La Rochefoucauld modernized it! Wings were rebuilt in Renaissance style, the inner courtyard was altered, loggias were erected above galleries. A little Italian air in Poitou...
The castle needed a restoration, after wars of Religion and François VI's exile (the author of the famous Maximes in the 17th century). François VII, duke of La Roche-Guyon, altered the western wing, then the family abandoned the castle for a long time.