A little history of Lichecourt castle
We can’t visit the castle because it’s a private estate.
Lichecourt is a very old place, since a Roman, a man called Ligiscus, gave his name to the land. The current name Lichecourt appeared in the 11th century.
The castle belonged to a great family of glassmakers, the Thysac, who founded here a glassworks in the middle of the forest of Darney.
Jean de Thysac raised the current castle near his factory in the 15th century. The brand new building set to fire! Nicolas de Thysac rebuilt it in 1545.