A little history of Notre-Dame de la Dalbade
A white church
Originally, the Dalbade was a priory belonging to the church of la Daurade (Toulouse).
The name Daurade came from deaurata, which means "covered with gold", because of its magnificent mosaics: the name of Dalbade came from dealbata, because of the whitewashed walls.
The church was founded in the 12th century. The current building was consecrated in 1548.
Like in Notre-Dame-du-Taur, we have a church which looks like a little fortress!
And yet, we have a fine Renaissance portal lightening the austere brick façade: it dates back from 1537, made by architect Michel Colin and sculptor Tailhand.
A bell-tower and its spire
The bell-tower was completed in 1555, with a spire made by famous architect Nicolas Bachelier from Toulouse.
This spire was destroyed during the Revolution, they replaced it in 1882.
But it was weighed down by the addition of turrets, so the bell-tower collapsed in 1926!
All the western part of the church fell...