A little history of Pont de la Tournelle
Tournelle? The bridge was named after a square tower included in the medieval wall raised by king Philip Augustus. In this tower they used to lock prisoners fated to galleys and brought to Marseille harbour.
They raised a wooden bridge called pont de Fust de l'Ile Notre-Dame. This wooden bridge linking Saint-Louis island was many times rebuilt: in 1637, frost destroyed it.
In 1648, it went to ruin! 3 years later, river Seine floods demolished half of the building. This time, in 1656, engineer Christophe Marie re-raised it with stone!
Phew, from that moment... no more events! Our bridge spent happy days... until 1851, when they re-raised it in the axis of the pont Marie, and then in 1929, when they put a statue of sainte Geneviève on one of the pier.
But why do we find this statue, here? Because we are here where they translated the sainte’s reliquary, in 885...