A little history of Pont du Maréchal-Juin in Lyon
Also known as the "stony bridge", "Exchange bridge" or "Nemours bridge", this construction spans the river Saône.
Bishop Humbert started its construction in 1076 and soon, small houses and a chapel were raised on the middle.
One of the arches near the quay was called the "Marvelous arch", because a procession dedicated to saint Irénée used to march below, every year.
In the Middle-Ages, they put a gallows here; they also lit fires for the Saint John Day.
Before it was destroyed in the 19th century, we could see 2 fortified towers on the bridge: the Empire and the France towers.
Where do these names come from? Since the treaty of Verdun in 843, they called those two banks of the river Saône "France bank" (on Fourvière hill’s side, given to king of France Charles the Bald) and "Empire bank" (given to emperor Lothaire)...
And what about the current bridge? Well, the primitive one was destroyed and in September 1843, duke of Nemours laid the first stone down of the new building.
In 1973, they demolished it! Why? Because it was too much dangerous for boats. They rebuilt another one upstream water.