A little history of Pont la Feuillée
The first bridge dates back to 1831. Then during 1840’s water floods, it was badly damaged and they had to restore it one year later.
In 1910, they reraised a metal bridge... where a boat ran into it in 1936! The new construction didn’t last long.
German troops destroyed arches in 1944.
6 years later, a new plan was born: finally! Our current bridge...
It was named after an old tradition: in the past, feuillées referred to huts made of branches, recovered by leaves (feuilles in french), where fishermen and boatmen lived.