A little history of Quézac bridge
6 arches, 500 metres long: one of the most beautiful bridges in France, very old and well-preserved!
This Gothic building over the river Tarn was raised by pope Urban V.
Originally, this bridge allowed pilgrims to cross the water, to go to a chapel dedicated to the Virgin, in Quézac.
But what did a pope do in Quézac? Urban V, also known as Guillaume de Grimoard, came from a small village from Lozère: Grizac.
He was born here in 1309. He became pope in 1362, but he was also count and lord of Gévaudan!
In other words, he loved his native land… and wanted to give it something.
So he raised this bridge but also started the construction of cathedral of Mende and collegiate church of Saint-Flour, in the area…
The bridge was destroyed during wars of Religion: bishop of Mende, Mr. de Marcillac, re-raised it identically in the beginning of the 17th century.
... and its church!
People found a statue of the Virgin Mary in Quézac in 1050.
Pilgrims came in a body! So a church was raised where they found the statue, in 1052.
Urban V raised it to a collegiate church with 8 canons in 1365. This pope also raised the bridge at the same time, to ease pilgrims’ arrival…
Inside this church, we can see capitals and keystones flank by Urban’s blazon!