A little history of Quimperlé présidial
A présidial is a Justice Court, founded in the 16th century and abolished during the Revolution.
On the presidial’s ground floor, we had a kind of long (40 metres), narrow and dark corridor! Between 1862 and 1868, architect Joseph transformed this ground-floor into a church.
On the first floor, city mayors gathered. The lower part was demolished in 1854, and in the 20th century, the présidial was shortened.
The nice staircase made of stone is the only vestige of the former building... Nowadays the place houses exhibitions.