A little history of Saint-Amand-de-Coly church
Three warriors from the area, Sor, Cyprien and Armand, decided to become hermits. One day they arrived in Périgord.
They found a nice and lovely place: the three split, and Armand moved in a little glade near river Coly, founding a small priory!
Raised in the 12th century, the church was surrounded by a big wall. Priory monks had endured the Hundred Years War, so they fortified their monastery...
It was a real keep with a real defensive system: we know that Protestant troops hid behind the church in 1575, resisting an entire week against seneschal of Périgord's troops, yet armed to the teeth!
For that matter, the church was called "Saint-Armand's stronghold"...