A little history of Saint-Martin church in Clamecy
The façade | Ji-Elle / CC-BY-SA
Founded in 1075 by Guy de Clamecy, the collegiate church had 8 canons and was included in the castle surrounding wall, raised by counts of Nevers. Guy gave it lots of lands and dedicated the church to saint Martin (he bought relics). The most ancient parts of the collegiate dates back to the beginning of the 13th century.