A little history of Saint-Michel church in Dijon
Mentioned for the first time in 898, the church was raised next to the medieval wall of Dijon.
In the beginning of the 9th century, Garnier de Mailly, abbot of Saint-Etienne, re-raised it and bishop of Langres, Lambert, dedicated it.
But our poor church was demolished in 1497! They immediately rebuilt a bigger building, completed in 1529.
From 1540, artist from Douai Nicolas de La Court started to erect the western portal. They completed the construction by adding tower-bells: the southern one dates back to 1659, the other one to 1667.