A little history of Saint-Nicolas-des-Champs church
Originally, our church was a modest chapel belonging to Parisian Saint-Martin priory. Reraised at the end of the 12th century then in the 15th century, the current Saint-Nicolas was raised from 1576, when monks from Saint-Martin priory gave a piece of their land in order to extend the church.
In 1745, they replaced the coloured stained glass windows by white glasses. It was restored in 1823 and 1843. The beautiful northern façade (overlooking rue Saint-Martin) dates back to the 15th century, with statues by Desprez (1843). The humanist Guillaume Budé and madame de Scudéry were buried here.