A little history of Saint-Pierre-le-Puellier
On a quiet little square in Orléans city, next to river Loire, the current collegiate church dates back to the 12th century.
Damaged by Protestants during wars of Religion in 1562, the parish was canceled in 1791 and they transformed the church into a salt loft.
Owned in 1816, it became the annexe of cathedral Sainte-Croix, then annexed to the parish of Saint-Aignan in 1942.
World War II’s bombings damaged the roof and the stained-glass windows: the city restored them in 1973 and the church was transformed into a place for concerts and exhibitions, in 1973.