A little history of Saint-Sauveur-le-Vicomte castle
Saint-Sauveur was the most important place to defend Cotentin peninsula, in the Middle-Ages.
A former wooden keep was raised here in the 10th century, then a real fortress 100 years later. The first lord was called Roger, and his son Neel.
The fief fell to the Tesson family in 1138 then to the Harcourt in 1214: Geoffroy of Harcourt was a traitor, did you know that?
Yes he was! The sir cooked something up with the English during the Hundred Years War. But Philip VI forgave him... Soon, Harcourt became allied with the king's enemy, Charles of Navarre, and then have his fortress to the king of England Edward III!
This time, Philip VI punished him and ordered the demolition of the castle, in 1346. His family was forgiven and the descendants rebuilt the fortress.
The building works were finished by the English, once they besieged the place... until the French army took the place in 1375! Finally, in the 17th century, the fortress was demolished.
So, we can see the lords dwelling behind the second surrounding wall, and the square keep (14th century).
An 11th century chapel was located here, in the past: on these foundations, Neel raised the Benedictine abbey that still exists!
Come here, along the curtains... between the northern and the southern tower, we can see the Dovecote tower, the Stork's tower and the Houllande tower.