A little history of Saint-Vorles church in Chatillon-sur-Seine
Our story began in 1868, when bishop of Langres translated saint Vorlès relics in Burgundy, in order to protect them from Normans' invasions. Later a church was raised on the location of the old chapel belonging to the castle of Chatillon.
Bruno de Roucy, bishop of Langres, raised the current church in 980, and put a canons chapter. They added chapels of Carmel and of Saint-Bernard to this Romanesque church, in the 17th century. They also altered the façade in 1619.
Inside, we can see a nice statue, the Sepulchre, which came from the old Cordeliers church, destroyed during wars of Religion: a sculptor from Châtillon made it in 1527, he was called Dehors.