A little history of Saint-Vulfran church in Abbeville

The façadeThe façade | ©Mattana / CC-BY-SA

Did you know an awful torture took place on the collegiate square? The young chevalier de La Barre, 20 years-old, was executed here...

He damaged a crucifix located on a bridge in Abbeville...

But we are here to see the collegiate church, right? So, in 1058, Guillaume de Talvas, count of Ponthieu, brought back saint Vulfran's body from Fontenelle abbey.

He immediately put him in a chapel in Abbeville. Guillaume II called 11 chaplains in 1100 in order to serve the church. Counts and countess of Ponthieu, kings and queens gave lot of money to the chapel... which became "royal and collegiate church" until 1789.

The first building was destroyed in 1345, then re-raised from June 1488. The mayor of Abbeville, a man called Postel, laid down the first stone.

The façade dates back to this era, then the nave wasn't completed because they lacked money. In the 17th century, the Gothic choir was finished!