A little history of Salagon priory
The priory | Calips / CC-BY-SA
The abbey was mentioned for the first time in 1015. Fell in the 11th century to the Benedictine abbey Saint-André, in Villeneuve-les-Avignon, the monastery became prosperous: one of the most important one in the area! Monks were rich enough to raise buildings between the 12th and the 16th century. Nowadays, only remains the beautiful Romanesque church (end of the 12th century). The site houses an ethnological museum.