A little history of Sarlat-la-Canéda
Narrow medieval streets, beautiful Renaissance houses... Sarlat is such a dream. The city dates back to Roman era, when it was known as Sarrum. In the reign of Charlemagne, Benedictine monks moved in and founded the monastery of Saint-Sauveur. The small city was raised and extended little by little. In 1317, pope Jean XXII gave it a bishopric and an episcopal palace was built. In the 13th and 14th centuries, the Hundred Years War damaged Sarlat! But the little city resisted against the English troops, so king of France Charles VII gave it privileges, as the exemption of taxes. At that time nice houses and town houses were raised.