A little history of Sarzay castle
In 1348, we found first mentions of Sarzay lords, the Barbançois family. Mathieu de Barbançois probably raised the castle in the beginning of the 15th century.
Vestiges of 3 turrets mean in the past, it used to exist two surrounding walls, flanked by a pond and moats. Whoa, what a great defensive system!
The keep was divided into 4 floors, with a ground floor, kitchens and a living room. On first floor, a justice room. On second floor, lord's apartments, with latrine and chimneys. On the last floor, a room with a covered way.
The castle fell to Louis-Charles de La Porte de Montval, in 1719. Then it was abandoned and transformed into a warehouse.
In the 19th century, Sarzay was almost demolished: surrounding walls were razed, moats were filled... Since the middle of the 20th century, new owners restored it.