A little history of Sceaux castle
The first castle was raised in 1597 by family Potier de Gesvres, on lands belonging to the Baillet family, in the 15th century.
In 1670, the estate fell to Colbert, king Louis XIV's minister. In 1673, architect Claude Perrault transformed the old mansion. For the inner decoration, Le Brun, Girardon, Coysevox worked hard...
The orangery and the detached house called Aurore ("Dawn") date back to this time (the two only 17th century buildings in Sceaux).
Don't forget the park, laid out by Le Nôtre... wonderful perspectives, nice fountains and a 1 kilometre long canal!
Then, Sceaux fell to duchess of Maine in 1700: this was the beginning of an era full of sumptuous parties! But the Revolution came by leaps and bounds...
A merchant from Saint-Malo owned the estate in 1798 and sold all the furniture. Then, the castle was entirely demolished.
In 1856, Sceaux was rebuilt. Abandoned and damaged during the World War II, Sceaux was bought and restored in 1932.