A church and centuries of garbages and carrots' peelings

Vinaigrette 0
The entrance - ©Benchaum / CC-BY-SA The entrance - ©Benchaum / CC-BY-SA
Notre-Dame-de-Bonne-Nouvelle church in Paris Parish church

Behind those wall raised by king Philip Augustus, reinforced in 1356 by Etienne Marcel (Paris' provost), linking the Saint-Denis' gate to the Montmartre's gate, what do we find? Well, since the 10th century, Parisians used to put here their food scraps! Those gradually piled up and finally formed a kind of artificial hill, which was called butte en gravois. From the top of his high hill, we had a nice view on a swampy valley, where people hunted ducks... That's a tall order!

This district was called villeneuve-en-gravois and people moved in gradually. But a church was missing! So the city allowed to raise a small chapel, in April 1551, dedicated to saint Barbe and saint Louis. In 1563, bishop of Luçon, Tiercelin, blessed the chapel under the name Notre-Dame-de-Bonne-Nouvelle, "Our Lady of Good News".

It was rebuilt in 1624 with a cemetery and a presbytery: the church was even visited by queen Ann of Austria, wife of Louis XIII! She laid down the first stone. The legend said that she chose the name "Good-News" in 1628, in order to thanks Virgin Mary. Why?? Because she gave her a son after 23 years of marriage. But, do you remember? The church was already called like that in 1563...

In 1790, the 4 bells were molten to make cannons and the church became a temple dedicated... to Reason! In 1823, the architect Godde rebuilt it... he only kept the bell-tower!


And also!