The current city hall was destroyed in 1914 and immediately rebuilt in the high Gothic style. The former city hall dates back to 1501, when the mayor Jean Longlet decided to extend it. It was a simple Gothic main building: and they found it too small! So they added another perpendicular wing.
In 1572, they added a Renaissance detached house to the main building. Just imagine, inside: such a cosy interior! One "antechamber", one "Honour bedroom" with "an antic chimney", the "Charles the Fifth room" where audiences took place... In the Renaissance wing, the "Goldsmith room", the "Sergeants' room" and the "King's prosecutor study"...