Here’s the only vestige of the Augustine convent founded in 1261: the church’s bell-tower (1377). It’s a square tower crowned by a stony spire and an iron campanile.
The construction of the church began in 1297 and... the building site was pretty colossal! J.-B. Joudou in his book Essai sur l'histoire de la ville d'Avignon wrote they took all the trees of the district to raise the framework!
Cardinal Pierre Corsini, Catherine of Medici’s intendant, paid the site. Then our bell-tower was transformed into a clock... In 1497, district inhabitants moaned: they didn’t hear hours ringing on the city-hall belfry!
As the mayors didn’t care, every one payed with his own money for the construction of a public clock, on the convent bell-tower! The convent and the church were razed in 1792... hands off to the tower! We still can see it overlooking Avignon’s quiet little streets.