The former Célestins convent was founded by pope Clément VII, fit out on the location of a former cemetery, where saint Pierre de Luxembourg was buried in 1387 at the age of 19.
Bishop of Tulle Jean de Chateauneuf laid down the first stone of the church with king of France Charles VI, his uncles Jean of Berry, Philippe of Burgundy and his brother Louis d’Orléans. The construction started in 1395 but was never completed! Then they raised the monastery. The duke of Savoie gave all the wood they needed for the framework raising!
The convent became very rich, too. The pope Clément VII settled here Célestins monks from the city of Pont-de-Sorgues in 1393: the story could really begin! And our monastery was the richest one in Avignon.
Yes, the good king René d’Anjou gave it lots of treasures: a piece from the Holy Cross full of precious gems, a retable… But the convent was sold in 1795, transformed into a military hospital and into a jail in 1853.