Jean Dunois, the famous "bastard of Orléans" (Joan of Arc's comrade in arms), received the seigneury of Beaugency in 1442 by his marriage with Marie d'Harcourt.
But our man didn't really like his life in the old medieval fortress' keep of Beaugency!... In spite of many alteration works, he finally built, to the east of the Tour César, a manor house much more comfortable opened onto a garden and a closed courtyard. Known as the château Dunois, bastard of Orléans' heirs enriched the building as centuries go by.
Whereas the tour Cesar is in ruins, nowadays, destroyed mainly during war of religion, the chateau Dunois escaped from dilapidations.
Sold during the Revolution, Loiret's département bought it and transformed it into a place for destitute, then in 1928 into a regional museum.