A little history of Honfleur harbour

Vinaigrette 0
Vieux-Bassin - ©Jbdeparis / CC-BY-SA Vieux-Bassin - ©Jbdeparis / CC-BY-SA
Honfleur harbour Harbour

A harbour existed here since ages, it was called Honne-Flew. It was Rollo's fief. In 1040, William the Conqueror gave the city to one of his vassal, Herlewin de Conteville. But then the city was besieged by the English and took again by the French in 1204. Honfleur became an important harbour since they fortified the city. It was called "Black-Harbour" (Portus Niger in Latin), mentioned for the first time in 1040.

Great explorers left from that harbour, in the 16th century: Binot Paulmier de Gonneville who went to India, Lelièvre in 1617 who left for Java and Sumatra, Jean Denis who reached Newfoundland...

Between 1684 and 1690, King Louis XIV demolished the fortifications and put Abraham Duquesne in charge of the construction of a new harbour, finished in 1684 and extended between 1720 and 1725 (called the Vieux bassin). King ordered too the creation of salt stores (for fishes' preparation) Herrings' fishing made Honfleur prosperous...


And also!