A little history of Invalides bridge

Vinaigrette 0
The bridge - ©ignis / CC-BY-SA The bridge - ©ignis / CC-BY-SA
Pont des Invalides Bridge

The former bridge was a hanging footbridge raised in 1825 by engineers Vergez and Bayard. They replaced it by a stony bridge in 1856, before a complete reconstruction in 1878. On the middle pier, we can see sculptures: earthly Victory (sculpted by Vilain) and marine Victory (by Diebolt).


And also!