A little history of La Chaize castle

Vinaigrette 0
The castle - ©Belcureuil / CC-BY-SA The castle - ©Belcureuil / CC-BY-SA
La Chaize castle Castle Père La Chaize

Did you know here, we find vineyards since the 18th century? Brouilly, especially. The castle was raised by François d'Aix, count of La Chaize. His uncle was the famous père La Chaise, king Louis XIV's confessor!... who let his name to the Parisian cemetery.

He built his own castle between 1676 and 1680, based on plans by Jules Hardouin-Mansart: a Classical façade, a main building flanked by two detached houses, overlooking formal garden laid out by Le Nôtre.

In the middle of the 18th century, the castle fell to countess of Montaigu, Françoise de La Chaize's niece. At this time and in the 19th century, huge building site began: the vineyard was planted, a vast vaulted cellar was erected in 1771, in order to stock the wine... Then the estate fell to the marquis de Roussy de Sales.


And also!