Géraud de Cardaillac, lord of Lacapelle in 1270, was born in a powerful and noble family of Quercy. He raised the square 30 metres high keep.
Then, the family had to restore the castle, because English troops damaged it a lot during the Hundred Years War. They added windows on medieval façades, added machicolations and watchtowers... In the middle of the 16th century, a main building with two floors was built on the southern part of the fortress, between the two towers.
Cardaillac family died in 1732. Lacapelle's towers were levelled, and during the Revolution, the fortress was slowly abandoned. Nowadays, it houses art exhibitions.