In the old Roule village, they raised a small chapel in the 13th century, a chapel depended of a leprosery dedicated to saint Jacques and saint Philip. This chapel became too small and decrepit, so they demolished it in the 17th century, in order to raise the current church: Jean-François Chalgrin was put in charge of the building site, between 1774 and 1784.
The façade and the steps are made of 4 Doric columns, crowned by a triangular pediment flanked by an allegory of Religion. Inside, look at the vault! A real trompe l’oeil... It looks like stone, but in fact, those are paintings canvas which imitate stone coffers!